Loading Events

The Beauty of Mind and Charm of Dance


Time: 18:00 Joroisniemen kartano

Joroisniemenkehätie 143, Joroinen

Joroisniemi Manor will host a concert that is significant in many ways, and one that lives on in history.

The first half of the concert will feature two Shubert sonatas for violin and piano. During Schubert’s era, much domestic music was played and the sonatas were composed for performance for small audiences. The works are therefore very suitable for a concert in a manor house. The choice of composer is also due to the special instrument:

One of the stars of the concert is a rare Hellas grand piano, built in 1919 and being restored for this concert in the spring, which will return to Joroisniemi Manor after touring the world. The restoration of the flyygel is being documented and will form part of a documentary film on Hellas pianos and flyygels that is currently being made. Ralf Gothón will also play an important role in the film. Gothón played this same instrument at the Joroisniemi manor house in 1983. In a concert review at the time, Seppo Heikinheimo wrote that the flyygel has a particularly soft sound, which is ideally suited to Schubert. Ralf Gothóni was also one of the founders of the Joroinen Music Days in 1977.

Dvořák’s “Dumky” piano trio, heard in the second half, is based on folk music. The work contains dance, joy, sadness – great emotions.

Violinist Mark Gothóni has performed as a soloist and chamber musician on five continents. He is principal violinist of the Orpheus Quartet and a member of the multi-award-winning Mozart Piano Quartet. He is Professor of Violin Performance at the Universität der Künste in Berlin and regularly gives master classes.

Ralf Gothón has a worldwide career as pianist, conductor and composer. He is known as a personal performer, a musician with an exceptional emphasis on holistic musicianship. Gothón has performed at the most prestigious music festivals and as a soloist with major European and American orchestras. He performs in numerous concerts every year, often in a double role, conducting from the piano.

Award-winning cellist Yuko Miyagawa performs regularly in Europe and Japan and has appeared at numerous festivals in Finland. Highlights of recent seasons include a recital series at Tokyo’s Kioi Hall and a gala concert as soloist in Elgar’s Cello Concerto with the New Japan Philharmonic Orchestra.

The doors open at 17:00.

Duration: 2 h / Interval 30 min. / a cafeteria will serve
Price: 42 €

Buy a ticket

← Back